Hola España!

My first week of holidays began in San Sebastian for a quick sightseeing tour – sunny views of the Bay of La Concha and the old town.

Then it was off to Vitoria-Gasteiz so my boyfriend could show me around his new home. Highlights included the Plaza de la Virgen Blanca and a tour of the Cathedral of Santa María, which involved wearing hard hats due to the restoration!

I was also treated to a trip to Burgos (starring a cathedral)…

… and lots of Spanish specialities….

Ben’s flat mates even gave me a lesson in how to make a Spanish omelette, which we eventually ate at the standard Spanish meal time of 10.30pm.

  1. Peel the potatoes and dice them into thin cubes. This takes ages, because you need loads of potatoes, so keep them soaked in water.
  2. Heat the oil in a frying pan, add the potatoes and some onion. Stir occasionally until the potatoes are softened.
  3. Strain to get rid of the oil! 
  4. Beat the eggs and then stir into the potatoes with lots of salt.
  5. Heat some of the strained oil in a pan. Add everything to the pan and shape the omelette with a spatular. 
  6. Use a plate to flip the omelette two or three times before serving.

One week later, and I’m back on the train back to Besançon to meet mum and dad. My Spanish may have only improved to “mi novio habla español… pero yo, no!” (My boyfriend speaks Spanish, but I don’t!), but I really enjoyed my hop over the border.

Leave a comment